Some thoughts on child discipline

My recent exploration of alternative and complementary currency schemes, has given me an idea. If I will have children sometime in the future, I will focus on rewarding good behaviour rather than punishing bad behaviour. How will I do this?

Many parents require that their children do chores. I will not make doing chores compulsory for my children, instead I will persuade them to do so. My children will earn a certain amounts of credits for each chore they do, including cleaning their rooms. With these credits they can “buy” privileges, what privileges will depend on what my children want.

I hope this will motivate my children to do chores. If they don’t, fine but then also no privileges. And if my children will be really naughty, my partner and I could subtract their credits – as a punishment.

8 responses

  1. I like the idea. Question is do you think they can help being naughty?

    1. Probably not, but this system might help them to think twice. At least I could try, couldn’t I?

      1. You could. In fact I think it may have more positive effect compared to punishing wrong doing.

  2. Your idea is not new. lol And does your partner get a say about this? You have discussed the whole reward system thoroughly before engaging in the child making act?
    I did notice you said, “I will do this or that”. I didn’t notice any, “We will do this or that.” 😦

    I don’t know why I didn’t see this post before as I am subscribed. Glad you brought it to my attention. 🙂

    1. I know it’s not new. Of course, my partner will have a say on matters – wherever I said “me”, I mean “my partner and me”.

      >>I don’t know why I didn’t see this post before as I am subscribed. Glad you brought it to my attention.

      I was indeed surprised, but I am glad to help you.

      1. Glad for the clarification. 🙂
        (And is there a partner in view? For you? )

        If I recall right, I think you once commented you did not want to marry.

      2. >>And is there a partner in view? For you?

        Not yet, but that could change.

        >>If I recall right, I think you once commented you did not want to marry.

        That’s true.

      3. That’s OK. But thinking about how you want things/child rearing is a good idea. Not many do. I think me and mine fussed about raising the kids more than anything else. 😦

Leave a Reply

